CSC report on new admin units delayed

Published at 14/01/2014 23:59:17 0 Comment(s)
No differences between NC, Cong: Dy CM

CSC-logo-ExecutivemosaicRising Kashmir News Srinagar, Jan 14: The Cabinet Sub Committee (CSC) report about the creation of new administrative units scheduled to be presented on Wednesday has been delayed indefinitely. Meanwhile, the government has partially modified the previous notice saying the CSC would interact with the general public of Jammu on Wednesday and Kargil and Leh districts on Thursday in the winter capital. Talking to Rising Kashmir, Deputy Chief Minister Tara Chand, who heads the CSC on the creation of new administrative units, said that there were no differences between the coalition government partners - National Conference and Congress. He said the CSC had been working hard and would soon finalize the report after meeting the public delegations from Jammu, Kargil and Leh. The deputy chief minister said as soon as the report would be finalized, it would be made public. The CSC on the creation of new administrative units is headed by the Deputy CM while other members of the committee include Minister for PHE, Irrigation and Flood Control, Sham Lal Sharma; Minister for Agriculture, Ghulam Hassan Mir; Minister for Higher Education, Muhammad Akbar Lone and Minister for Planning and Development, Ajay Sadhotra. Chief Minister Omar Abdullah-led government had set a deadline of January 15 for the CSC’s report on the creation of the new administrative units. According to sources, the report is getting delayed also because of differences over the issue between National Conference and Congress and the political differences between the two on a pre-poll alliance. The government is also considering the financial burden the State would incur with the creation of new administrative units. The Mushtaq Ganaie Committee had recommended creation of 955 new administrative units, which include sub-divisions, tehsils, niabats, CD blocks and patwar halqas across Jammu and Kashmir. Sources said differences had also cropped up between the ruling alliance parties as Jammu has an edge over Kashmir valley in respect of tehsils and Niabats. The Mushtaq Ganaie Committee had proposed a total of 23 sub-divisions across the State including 10 for Jammu region, 12 for Kashmir and one for the cold desert region of Ladakh. The committee had also recommended creation of 57 tehsils including 28 for Jammu, 25 for Kashmir and four for Leh and Kargil districts of Ladakh region. It had also made recommendation of creating 79 Niabats including 40 for Jammu, 34 for Kashmir and 5 for Ladakh. The committee had also proposed creation of 63 community development blocks including 29 for Jammu, 31 for Kashmir and three for Ladakh. The Mushtaq Ganaie Committee had also proposed creation of a total of 733 patwar halqas including 340 for Jammu, 385 for Kashmir and eight for Ladakh. Sources said the creation of the proposed 955 administrative units would cost the State around Rs 800 crore including recurring and non-recurring expenditure. They said that the government would have to create more than 4600 posts under various categories for these units. The process of ascertaining the demands of people for new administrative units was started in 2007 when the government had constituted a committee headed by former chief secretary Sudhir Singh Bloeria. However, Boleria committee report was termed ‘inconclusive’ in 2009 and in January 2010, the Committee was revived with Mushtaq Ahmad Ganai as its head. The committee had submitted its report to the government on July 14, 2011, following which the Revenue department was directed to prepare a note after detailed examination of the recommendations for discussion and final decision in the cabinet. When the note was placed before the cabinet in January 2012, it was decided to seek more details from the Revenue department for taking holistic view of the entire issue. However, since January 2012, the Revenue department did not come up with the information and the issue received due attention after one and half year on July 2, 2013 when the chief minister, while chairing the cabinet meeting, directed the chief secretary to ensure submission of detailed note on proposed administrative units as early as possible. When the issue again came up, a CSC was constituted on July 24, 2013 for working out the mechanism for implementation of the report of Mushtaq Ganaie Committee report and taking on board fresh demands.

0 Comment(s)

Leave a Reply

9 − = five

Back To Top